Spreading the love

September 24, 2008

I just read this little gem on a new blog I’ve subscribed to called OnlineMarketerBlog:

Built into all of the web 2.0 tools is an inherent good – that you help yourself by helping others. Don’t horde your expertise. Show off what you know by helping others and more business will come banging down your down.”

Oooooh, I love this! Maybe it’s the spring sunshine that’s beating into my little office, but it feels like there’s a new ground-swell afoot in the business world and it happens to be really positive!

I’m a huge fan of authentic writing that aims to create a meaningful connection, as I truly believe that the vast majority of us simply vague out when it comes to reading the stock-standard marketese that we’ve been fed for many years. (This thought is by no means new: George Orwell was writing about this very same thing way back in 1946 is his famous essay, Politics and the English Language. Don Watson also picked up the same theme in his popular book, Death Sentence: The Decay of Public Language in 2003.)

So if we can combine this new authentic writing style, with a quiet confidence that sees us sharing our knowledge and helping others when we can, I reckon we’re onto a winner.

I think business language is about to change dramatically – and for the better. What do you think?

One Response to “Spreading the love”

  1. DJ Says:

    I agree! And I’m glad you like my blog 🙂

    Marketese has been hearing its death knell for a couple of years now. The cool thing in my opinion is that this change is all consumer/customer-initiated. They hate all the vague, meaningless marketing-speak and they’re forcing us business types to be a little more human (imagine that!).

    It is a positive time. Whenever you can read folks like Chris Brogan, Joseph Jaffe, Mitch Joel and others for free, you know you are in a special time.


Leave a Reply

